The Herbal Magic Scam

Today I was going through some of my previous blog entries and when I scrolled down to the bottom I realized that yet again Google was making money off of mega corporations.  Because WordPress is a free blog site, they allow companies to put up their ads at the bottom of blogs.  I have nothing against open marketing, however, based on the type of health information I’m posting up, it would look as if I’m promoting the companies or products that appear in the ads.  This however, is not the case.  Let me go on the record by saying that the opinions expressed on this blog are completely independent of any company or product that is mentioned by me or Google ads.  If I write something favourable about a product or company, it is based on my personal and professional opinion for the health and benefit of my readers.  In no way, shape, or form do I take any form of payment, gifts, endorsements, or publicity for providing feedback (good or bad) about any product, person, or company on this website.

Despite this technical insult I realized that inadvertently, Google has provided me with more topics to target.  In fact, usually at the top of their ads is one of the biggest spenders on marketing in the weight loss industry, Herbal Magic. After doing some research on them, I decided it was time for the doctor to reveal the smoke and mirrors behind the Herbal Magic scam.

The easiest (and perhaps the most shocking) way to find out the type of scam they run is to visit the following link (by CBC’s Marketplace): http://www.cbc.ca/marketplace/2010/magic_in_a_bottle/main.html

In this episode they show that this company basically gets people to join their program (for about $1000) and using a very limited diet plan composed of low calories and a few meals, entices people to spend hundreds of dollars in their supplements.  They claim that there is a supplement for any illness ranging from headaches, to gastrointestinal problems, to back pain, and God knows what else.  But that’s not the disturbing part.  These pill pushers don’t have a single medically trained person on staff at their locations.  There are no doctors, nurses, registered dieticians or nutritionists to guide people in losing weight in a healthy and safe manner.  They try to cover this up on their website that shows you a “scientific advisory team” composed of a pharmacist, a dentist, and a general practitioner.  The clinics themselves have “personal health coaches” i.e salesmen. This company revolves solely on selling their products while keeping the other lifestyle changes such as physical fitness and good nutrition as secondary in importance.

The bottom line is, if you go onto Google search and look up “Herbal Magic Scam”, you’ll find several websites where their own employees have written bad reviews about them.  And if you don’t believe those, then you can do what I did – Call them up and ask them a medical question such as “What happens to your baseline body temperature when you take a thermogenic during a fever?”  or “I suffer from ulcerative colitis.  Can you tell me how the cleansers will affect my metabolic and respiratory pH levels?”  If you get a response that starts with “duuuhhhhh….” – Just hang up.

This entry was posted in Weight Loss Scams. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Herbal Magic Scam

  1. Emmi says:

    This was a refreshing post. Many “target” blogs (weight loss, inspiration, etc) do indeed look like overglorified ads. By the way I recently migrated here from Vox and I do not see ads here. There were tons of ads on Vox and often when I wrote about the evils of pesticides or Iams, guess who plastered their ads on my blog. Argh!

    I wish everyone just knew as a rule of thumb that these packaged “natural” products are almost always questionable and if you want herbs to help you, do the research and buy loose herbs and figure it out. More importantly, I am baffled by this concept people have of, “if I have a problem, I should take something”. More often than not it is useless to gobble stuff down until we understand what we should -stop- eating. Like smokers and drinkers who take those detox pills. Hello, why not quit smoking and drinking first?

    I was always thin but once I was diagnosed with a wheat (not gluten) allergy and I quit eating that stuff, I gained 20 lbs presumably because my metabolism changed. Now I am in the weight loss game but it’s simply exercise and correct diet. It’s not rocket science for those of us who do not have thyroid issues etc.

  2. evilcyber says:

    I have to say in a way I find it amusing when I blog or a video about the worthlessness of many fitness or diet supplements and the accompanying ads are for the very products I criticize.

  3. Stefano says:

    I just read your review of Herbal Magic and totally agree with you that’s it’s a scam. I was also a bit perplexed at your commentary about the ads on WordPress. There is an alternative to wordpress.com and that is to get your own webhosting for about $4-6 / Mth and then install the WordPress engine and voila, no more ads. WordPress.com must place ads to pay for their service, however if you fork out a few bucks and then install the same blogging engine, but this time from WordPress.org (Note the .org) then you can have an ad-free website where you can speak openly about scams and hoaxes without having to worry about what ads will show up.

Leave a Reply

